Cabaret 1933 Complete Studio Cast Double CD

1933 A Complete Studio Cast Recording This is the only recording containing all the songs from the Original Broadway Score, The Film Score and The Revival Score._Completely Remastered Release.
Stock Status: In Stock
Manufacturer: 605288131127
Production: Original Studio Cast
Brand: Jay Records
Product Code: CDJAY2 1311
Weight: 0.28kg
You will earn 21 points which is the equivalent of £0.21


Music by
John Kander
Lyrics by
Fred Ebb
Book by
Joe Masteroff
Based on the play by
John Van Druten
and the stories of
Christopher Isherwood
Judi Dench
Fred Ebb
Gregg Edelman
Maria Friedman
John Mark Ainsley
Jonathan Pryce as MC
National Symphony Orchestra
conducted by
John Owen-Edwards

Composer John Kander and lyricist Fred Ebb are enjoying a renaissance of popularity at the moment. The revival of their 70's work in the form of CHICAGO is currently conquering the world. Broadway is also enjoying a sensational revival of Cabaret, another of Kander and Ebb's works from the same period. This first complete recording of Cabaret is finally being released in the USA and celebrates the genius of the composers. Cabaret is recognised as Kander and Ebb's masterwork and is considered one of the 10 greatest musicals ever written. Nominated for the 1998 Gramophone Award, this recording features an all star cast including Dame Judi Dench, Jonathan Pryce, Maria Friedman and the lyricist Fred Ebb. The National Symphony Orchestra is conducted by John Owen Edwards who scored great success as the musical director of this years National Theatre production of OKLAHOMA! This is the only recording containing all the songs from the Original Broadway Score, The Film Score and The Revival Score. Hit songs include Willkommen, Cabaret, Maybe This Time, Money Money, Tomorrow Belongs To Me and Two Ladies. The wonderful original Broadway orchestrations by Don Walker and the sensational film orchestrations by Ralph Burns were used for this recording. Recorded in Digital Dolby Surround sound at Abbey Road Studios in London.


Disc 1:
1. Willkommen -- Jonathan Pryce, Company
2. So What? -- Judi Dench
3. Don't Tell Mama -- Maria Friedman, Ensemble
4. Telephone Dance -- Company
5. Perfectly Marvellous -- Gregg Edelman, Maria Friedman
6. Two Ladies -- Jonathan Pryce, Claire Moore, Louise Gold
7. It Couldn't Please Me More (A Pineapple) -- Fred Ebb, Judi Dench
8. Tomorrow Belongs to Me -- John Mark Ainsley, Ensemble
9. Why Should I Wake Up? -- Gregg Edelman, Maria Friedman
10. Sitting Pretty -- Jonathan Pryce, Company
11. Married -- Judi Dench, Fred Ebb
12. Fruit Shop Dance -- National Symphony Orchestra
13. Meeskite -- Fred Ebb, Company
14. Tomorrow Belongs to Me (Reprise) -- Caroline O'Connor, Company
 Disc 2:
1. Entr'acte -- National Symphony Orchestra
2. Kick Line -- National Symphony Orchestra
3. Married (Reprise) -- Fred Ebb
4. If You Could See Her (The Gorilla Song) -- Jonathan Pryce
5. What Would You Do? -- Judi Dench, Gregg Edelman
6. Sally's Revolt -- Gregg Edelman, Maria Friedman
7. Cabaret -- Maria Friedman
8. Break Up -- Gregg Edelman, Maria Friedman
9. Finale Ultimo -- Gregg Edelman, Jonathan Pryce, Company
10. Curtain Calls -- Company
11. Exit Music -- National Symphony Orchestra
12. Money (1987 version) -- Jonathan Pryce (BONUS)
13. Don't Go -- Gregg Edelman (BONUS)
14. I Don't Care Much -- Jonathan Pryce (BONUS)
15. Mein Herr -- Maria Friedman, Ensemble (BONUS)
16. Maybe This Time -- Maria Friedman, Ensemble (BONUS)
17. Money Money -- Jonathan Pryce, Maria Friedman (BONUS)
18. Tiller Girls -- National Symphony Orchestra (BONUS)


Write a customer review and share your thoughts with other customers.
Be the first to review this product.